Can estheticians in Illinois be supervised caregivers for marijuana patients? Yes, but the Estheticians should be at least 21 years old. The Caregivers must have a medical license and access to cannabis legally. They cannot consume their patients’ marijuana products. The caregivers should also be certified by a physician. If you are curious about the process, keep reading.

Estheticians must be 21 years old to be a caregiver

To become a certified caregiver for cannabis patients in Illinois, an esthetician must be at least 21 years old. Applicants must apply for a Registry ID card and submit fingerprints from a certified vendor. A list of approved vendors is available online. Before applying, applicants must provide a 2-inch by 2-inch photo of themselves, proof of age and residency, and receipt from fingerprint vendor. Applicants should allow up to 30 days to wait for the DPH’s approval. After the application has been approved, the caregiver must obtain the ID card within 30 days.

In addition to fingerprinting requirements, applicants must submit an application fee of $40 and complete an application form. If an applicant is terminally ill, fingerprinting and application fees will not apply. The Illinois Department of Public Health must process an application within 10 days, and applicants may find information on the Department of Public Health’s webpage for completing the application. Petitions for new debilitating medical conditions must be filed on the DPH’s website in the form prescribed by the department. Petitioners must submit specified supporting documents to support their applications, and the DPH will review them within 180 days.

Check this out -  A New Town of Augusta Proposal Would Ban Recreational Marijuana Sales Processing and Grow

Caregivers must be able to access cannabis legally

If you are planning to practice esthetic medicine in Illinois, you must be able to legally access cannabis. It is illegal to sell recreational marijuana, but medical patients in Illinois can grow up to five plants in their homes. Illinois’ law on medical cannabis requires dispensaries to maintain a minimum amount of product in reserve for patients. The state also requires dispensaries to keep a certain amount of product on hand for emergency use.

In Illinois, recreational marijuana will become legal on Jan. 1, 2020. Gov. J.B. Pritzker signed HB1438 into law, making cannabis legal for adults in Illinois. The new law also states that estheticians must have a state-issued license and receive federal funding for marijuana dispensaries. Until then, existing dispensaries will remain open, but they will be taxed at the food and drug rate.

Caregivers cannot consume any of their patient’s cannabis or marijuana products

It’s no secret that medical cannabis is popular among patients who need cosmetic procedures, but some people are surprised to hear that estheticians in Illinois cannot consume any of their patient’ pot products or cannabis. The state recently approved a Medical Cannabis Pilot Program, and even sponsors of the new program admit that qualifying conditions are not exploitable. The rule, however, will likely still receive scrutiny from the board and DPH.

The program is a temporary measure and will most likely have some regulations added during the next four years. The state’s website is updated regularly with new regulations. Applicants for the Illinois Medical Cannabis Pilot Program must undergo background checks and fingerprinting before being approved. If they do have to work with cannabis, they must pay a set fee for specialized photo identification. Estheticians cannot consume any of their patient’s cannabis or marijuana products, so ensuring compliance with state laws is essential.

Check this out -  Can I Terminate a Lease If My Neighbor Smokes Marijuana?

Caregivers must be certified by a physician

Licensed estheticians in Illinois can now legally serve as a caregiver for patients who need medical cannabis. The Illinois Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act was recently signed into law by Gov. Pat Quinn. This act allows qualified patients to use marijuana to treat debilitating medical conditions. Patients must be diagnosed with one of 33 conditions to qualify for this program. In addition, qualified patients will not face prosecution for using marijuana for medical purposes. Patients will be protected from prosecution and denial of rights, and designated caregivers will receive immunity from criminal charges.