Are You Charged Under the Age of 21 With Possession of Marijuana and Possession of Controlled Substances?
If you’re under the age of 21 and were arrested for possession of marijuana or a controlled substance, you may be wondering if you’ve been charged with a crime. Possession of these substances by minors is considered a civil law violation and you could face fines of $100 to two hundred dollars. If you’re arrested in a motor vehicle, you may have your driver’s license suspended and face additional consequences.
Misdemeanors for adults over 21
Possession of marijuana and a controlled substance is a misdemeanor. The law considers marijuana and synthetic “equivalents” to be Schedule I hallucinogenic substances under New York Public Health Law. The amount must be greater than one and a half ounces. A person may also be found guilty of possessing small amounts of a controlled substance if they have the intent to sell it or use it. A person may also be arrested for abusing a drug or vapors while in possession of a controlled substance.
If you have been arrested for possession of marijuana, it is critical to seek legal counsel immediately. The consequences of a conviction can be far-reaching. In addition to the possible jail time, you may lose your job and federal benefits. Additionally, a conviction for marijuana possession can make obtaining housing and employment difficult. Contact a criminal defense attorney for help with this matter.
A number of states have passed legislation to reduce the severity of drug possession charges. House Bill 1050, for example, changed the amount of marijuana that carries a maximum fine from two to one ounces to one ounce. The law also changed the penalties for possession of less than a half ounce of marijuana. Possession of one-half ounce of marijuana is now a misdemeanor and carries a maximum fine of $1000.
If you’re over 21, the law also states that possession of marijuana of one ounce or less is a misdemeanor. Possession of an ounce or more is a misdemeanor. Possession of more than an ounce is a felony and carries a maximum sentence of five years in jail and a fine of five thousand dollars. In most cases, marijuana possession is a misdemeanor for adults over 21.
The state of New Hampshire has also passed legislation that aims to reduce the waiting period for obtaining expungement of a marijuana conviction. House Bill 399 in New Hampshire allows a person to petition the court to have a conviction annulled after ten days if the prosecutor does not object to the petition. In Nevada, Assembly Bill 192 allows for expungement of a marijuana possession conviction.
Class D misdemeanors for individuals under 21
It is illegal for an individual under 21 to possess either marijuana or a controlled substance if he or she is under the influence of any drug. In addition, it is illegal for an individual to sell marijuana or any controlled substance, even if they are under the age of 21. Additionally, the possession of marijuana and controlled substances in an unlocked car glove box is illegal. In addition, the defendant cannot make claims of ignorance of the law.
The quantity of marijuana or controlled substance must be one and a half ounces or more. The controlled substance can be a derivative of marijuana, methamphetamine, or amphetamine, or an extract from the marijuana plant (also known as hashish). In addition, the controlled substance must be a Tier two quantity, or the individual can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor.
In addition to marijuana possession, other drug possession charges include possession of a precursor, solvent, or chemical reagent used to manufacture methamphetamine. If an individual is under 21 and in possession of a controlled substance, they can be sentenced to up to 20 years in prison. However, it is important to note that the penalties for possession of a controlled substance are far less severe than the penalties for marijuana possession.
Class B felony for individuals under 21
Possession of marijuana and a controlled substance is a Class B felony for individuals under 21 years of age. Under the law, individuals can be arrested for possessing marijuana if they have more than 16 ounces. They may be sentenced to one year in jail and a $500 fine. Possession of marijuana or a controlled substance that has been processed into another substance is a Class C felony and carries a sentence of up to five years in jail.
A violation of subsection (b) can result in criminal liability for the defendant, even if the person made good faith efforts to help others. In addition, violators of this section face a criminal penalty of a class B felony. For this offense, the defendant cannot claim ignorance of the age of the person who is protected. The defendant’s actions must be based on their knowledge of the law and on the circumstances of the crime.
The law also provides penalties for small amounts of marijuana. Possession of up to one ounce of marijuana or a cannabis-infused product is a Class B felony for an individual under 21. Possession of up to six mature marijuana plants, including seeds, is also considered a misdemeanor. Individuals are required to register in a drug education program for any conviction for possession of marijuana and a controlled substance.
In recent years, several states have passed legislation affecting the penalties for marijuana and other drugs. In Colorado, marijuana possession charges were reduced to a Class B felony for individuals under 21. For those under 21, possession of less than 60 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor. Likewise, a gram or less of marijuana under 60 grams is considered a misdemeanor in Utah.
In most cases, a person who is under 21 and convicted of possessing marijuana and a controlled substance is sentenced to a year in prison. However, if this is the first time the person has been arrested for possession of marijuana, it will be a Class B felony. If it is a repeat offense, the penalty may be more severe. If the drug is used to distribute illegally, death or serious bodily injury will result, the person could face an enhanced sentence. In addition, if the drug is distributed near a school, youth center, or public housing, the person faces an increased penalty.
Defenses to possession of marijuana and possession of controlled substance
There are several defenses to possession of marijuana and possession of controlled substances charges. One of the most common defenses involves a constitutional challenge to a search. A defense attorney will look at the constitutionality of the stop and whether the suspect consented to the search. In addition, if the arresting officer did not have a legitimate reason for stopping and searching the defendant, the evidence may be suppressed.
In Kansas, possession with intent to sell or distribute marijuana is a felony. The severity of the felony charge depends on the amount of marijuana that was involved in the transaction. For a first offense, possession is a Class A misdemeanor. For second or subsequent offenses, the penalty ranges from 14 to 51 months in prison. In addition, the offense of advertising marijuana is a felony.
Another defense to possession of marijuana and possession of controlled substance is possession of a prescription drug. These drugs are illegal unless a doctor has prescribed them. Having such a prescription is a legal defense. The penalties for possession of marijuana and possession of a controlled substance will depend on the facts of the case and the defendant’s prior criminal record. While these defenses are rarely used, they are effective in some situations.
A defense to possession of marijuana and possession of a controlled substance is essential if you want to avoid a criminal conviction. Although possession of marijuana and controlled substances is still illegal in Illinois, there are certain exceptions for law enforcement officers and registered patients. A defense to possession of marijuana and possession of a controlled substance can result in a reduced sentence or alternative sentencing. So, the first step is to hire an experienced defense lawyer.
A misdemeanor or an infraction? Possession of less than an ounce of marijuana is generally an infraction and will not result in a criminal record. A fine of up to $100 will be imposed. If a person possesses marijuana for personal use, they will most likely receive a misdemeanor charge, which carries a criminal fine and jail time of less than one year. If the person has a valid medical marijuana prescription, this defense may be enough to get the charge dismissed.
Leave a Reply